crossed the ocean for a heart of gold

I’ve always been told that I’m a lot like my dad, and the older I get, the more I see the similarities between the two of us. The things we have in common include, but are not limited to, a strange obsession with painful endurance events and activities, eating copious amounts of food after those events, an interest in American History, an almost identical sense of humor, the knowledge that we are right, always, a hatred for goat cheese, and a love of Neil Young. Neil Young is one of my very favorites, ever. And while I could never pick a favorite song of his, “Heart of Gold” certainly makes the top three. I love it. So much that I considered making a reference to it when I was naming this blog. Instead, I went with something a little more explicitly French and settled for using my favorite lyric as the title to this post. I don’t have much to say–I think this little reference deserves to stand alone. (Otherwise I’d just save it for some momentous post that would probably never happen.) However, I will say that listening to the song is proving especially lovely in the midst of this very special and memorable Parisian autumn, and that I came across this Kate Spade idiom bangle the other day and couldn’t help but fall in love.

WBRU1292,default,pd

Source

There are a lot of things that my dad and I do not have in common. I’m pretty sure that a love of this bracelet, despite our mutual fondness for Neil Young, is one of those things. Too bad, really–I would have been willing to share.

Now, do me a favor and go listen to Heart of Gold. Do it. You won’t be sorry.

2 responses to “crossed the ocean for a heart of gold

  1. Yay! I made the blog! However, I am not ALWAYS right. For instance, the preceding sentence is inaccurate. Please correct your blog. Love, Dad.

Leave a Reply

